Best price

3D Robotics Solo Drone Review 2018 | Best Smart Drones with Camera for Sale

3dr solo

Drones are remote control (RC) flying device by which we can see the world in a new way. We can enjoy the drone in the pilot point of view by becoming the first person viewing (FPV). If you ever have dreamt about competing in the air race or performing tricks then just enter the world of drones. We prefer small and light drones which are of low cost for beginners. Bigger and heavier drones are more stable to fly outdoors. Check out latest Drone reviews for Racing, Videography. For excellent aerial footage and video, we use advanced drones. Drones are designed to support camera except for toy drones. Even they can support for lift capacity and if payload exceeds the drone flight time reduces. Check this 3DR Solo Review which is an advanced drone and has an excellent aerial photography.

Overview of 3D Robotics Solo Quadcopter

The3DR Solo Drone has a lot more advanced features which suit best in today’s world. Drones have more applications which are always in our daily basis. 3DR Solo Quadcopters is one of the Best Drones for photography 2018 and for capturing video to save our cherish moments. We can share our adventures through photos and videos. The newbie can also fly this drone. Solo exceeds the minimum threshold which delivers high-end performance. The company also provides spare propellers, i.e., clockwise and counter-clockwise. The software and hardware of the 3DR have more opportunity to expand. Check out 3DR Solo Review to know more about 3DR Solo Review will give you a clear idea about Specifications, Features along with drone flying tips.

3DR Solo Smart Drone Image

Last update was on: December 10, 2017 5:21 am

3DR Solo Review 2018

If you want to know more details about Solo, just check this 3DR Solo Review. Solo 3DR is one of the smart drones with a lot more advanced features. Here is the brief description about 3DR Solo Quadcopter with 3-axis gimbal for GoPro. This Best Drone with Camera 3DR Solo will give you amazing still and videos.

  • Drone Footage depicts no matter what which is mesmerizing.
  • Hackers can tinker with the both hardware and software which is an impressive feature.
  • Quadcopter also has a Follow Me mode which makes it more exciting.
  • Its dual computer flight system makes the drone job easy without having a messy problem.
  • Solo has two sides one is human-friendly and customizable.
  • The battery can also accommodate bigger cells.
  • You can set up excellent shots by Cablecam and orbit.
  • In this Solo, we can start and stop recordings or change the camera frame rate or other settings when it is in flight.
  • The pause button is like other standard control which helps to stay in stable position when we panic.
  • Solo 3DR is the first drone which has a wireless range of unfettered in-flight GoPro access.
  • Information Portal have the best, simplest and easiest instructions to follow.
  • 3DR Solo has a flexible micro HDMI connector which connects the side of GoPro.

Price history for 3DR Solo Drone Quadcopter
Latest updates:
  • $299.95 - December 12, 2017
  • $298.93 - December 12, 2017
  • $299.99 - December 11, 2017
  • $284.99 - December 10, 2017
  • $299.99 - December 7, 2017
  • $284.99 - December 5, 2017
  • $283.95 - December 4, 2017
Since: June 19, 2017
  • Highest Price: $299.99 - November 28, 2017
  • Lowest Price: $199.00 - October 25, 2017

All about Solo 3DR

Solo was started with the experiment by the father and his son. In 2007 Chris Andreson built his first drone with his kids with a grade technology in the kitchen. The kids continued the experiments while Chris founded DIYdrones.com which is grown into a largest open robotics development community. Chris met Jordi Munoz, a 19-year-old college dropout through this site and with the help of him they developed fully functioning autopilot from Nintendo Wii remote. The first 3DR was designed by hands and for shipment, they used pizza boxes. 3DR used APM which is a universal flight code to develop Pixhawk. Are you a professional videographer and looking for the Best Videography Drones 2018 then this 3DR Solo Drone is ideal for you.[/wpsm_toggle]

3DR Solo Gimbal Review and Flight Footage

Features of 3DR Solo

Survey:

This feature makes the drone flight automatically around the desired object. This process so simple that we have just to outline the area we want to study and the drone will fly automatically. If you want to take-off the app and the UAV will automatically land itself.

Scan:

The scan is the mode similar to survey where we have to select the center of the structure and radius. The drone automatically flies at different altitudes to capture all the possible images. In this 3DR Solo Review you can get all about Featues like scan.

Inspect:

To travel where assets are difficult to reach the Solo 3DR Drone can do its best. The drone and the camera are controlled by Filed Service technicians so that they can spot the camera whenever needed.

Cablecam:

3DR Solo CameraWe can lock our 3D robotics solo Drone onto a virtual cable and at different altitudes between two points in space. By this process, w can create a straight tracking shot with the ability to pan and tilt the camera. We can memorize our first and last frames and pan the camera between them by just use one stick controller to move our drone up and down.

Selfie:

3DR Solo UAV is also helpful for selfies, first of all, we have to keep the drone away from us and center the camera so that the background fills out.

Follow Me:

In this mode, 3DR Solo will come with us by keeping us on track by GPS enabling mobile device. Our drone will come with us from behind, stay our beside or fly ahead.

Dual Computer:

The Dual computer Flight Control System in Solo 3DR splits the work across two computers resulting in the reduction of mechanical failure in flight. The features like Follow Me and Cablecam are taken up by this flight control system.

Pause:

As we all know that one button flyings are used to take-off, land and return home automatically. In addition to this, the drone also has a pause button which we can use when we are panic. This Pause button is much more similar like in a video game. We can hold the Solo in a fixed hover by just pressing this pause button and can capture a static shot.

Safety Net:

The range of any craft is 400, and they are limited to fly in user-specified radius. In this mode, we specify a predefined limited range so that our drone flies in that area only.

Transmitter:

The transmitter controls are so easy that even the beginners can easily understand the controls. The main reason behind the design of the transmitter is that video game controllers develop them.

Mobile App:

3DR Solo App ControllerSolo 3DR has a fully featured app for iOS and Android by which we can control the drone at our fingertips. This drone also includes mobile device holders for smartphones and tablets.

GoPro:

Not only the access of controls but also we can operate the GoPro through the app. For this feature we require Tarot Gimbal to act as an interface.

Gimbal:

The 3DR Solo Gimbal is available separately to mount a GoPro HERO3+ or HERO4 camera. Gimbal also provides us 3-axes stabilization and also allows panning and tilting via controls.

LED:3DR Solo LED

The bright multicolor LEDs make our drone visible at night times and can also caution us which are below each motor. These lights are also visible at daytime. The red color of LED indicates the front whereas the blue to represent the back. Smaller LEDs can also show the status of the drone like its blinks lightly when the drone is about to start and connected. LEDs blink faster if any malfunction occurs.

3DR Solo Drone Quadcopter

$284.99 $799.00
28 new from $224.00
5 used from $179.99
Free shipping
Amazon Amazon.com
Last update was in: December 10, 2017 5:21 am

 

Specifications Availabilty
Brand Name 3DR Solo
Model Info SA11A
Weight 3.9 lbs
Dimensions 18 x 18 x 10 inches
Freaquency 2.4 GHz
Flying Environment Outdoor
Gimbal Axis 3-axis
Battery Included Yes
Battery Type 2600 mAh 7.2 Vdc Rechargeable Lithium Ion
Color black and green
Minimum Age above 14
Material Plastic
Warranty for parts 1 year

PROS:
  • 3DR Solo Quadcopter is one of the Best Drone Under 300 Dollars and it is very economical for you with amazing features.
  • The design of the Solo 3DR is very attractive which makes us spellbound to it.
  • The beginners can also understand the RC of Solo drone because controller developed the video game professionals.
  • This drone is very fast and maneuverable.
  • We can have steady shots and sharp video when the drone is flying.
  • The product is so durable because it can withstand after many crashes.
  • This drone is very easy to operate.
  • Drones come with app controller supported by iOS and Android.

CONS:
  • Solo 3DR UAV is expensive, but we can afford it in our budget.
  • We require an additional GoPro camera.
  • We observe Long recharge times in this 3DR Solo.

This company provides a 30-day money back guarantee when we are not satisfied with the product. In this process, we have to complete a five-question survey to improve their future versions. 3DR Solo Quadcopter with 3-axis gimbal for GoPro has a warranty of one year.

Precautions and Guidelines

  • One should register if one’s drone weighs more than 0.55 pounds and you use it in outdoor.
  • If an individual is under age 13 someone either parent or guardian who is 13+ can register for you.
  • As this product includes small parts we do not recommend this product for children under three years old.
  • We should not fly the drone closer to the vehicles, boats or buildings such as away from 30 m.
  • Should not fly the UAV over a populated area such as beaches, other person backyards, etc.
  • UAVs are not allowed within the radius of 5.5 km of airport or helicopter landing sites.
  • Quadcopter should remain in the line of vision entire time we operate the drone.
  • Verify whether your GPS signal is strong enough or not.

The accessories in the box of 3DR Solo Drone are:

  • Solo Vehicle with 3-axis Gimbal installed.
  • The 3DR controller.
  • four plus four propellers.
  • Smart Battery
  • Charger for the Solo 3DR controller.

We install the charged batteries in the drone and fix the propellers. Connect the RC to any smartphone through USB cable which is provided in the box. Our drone is ready to fly either by RC or APP controller.

Only some of the versions support the Gimbal they are:

Solo: 1.2.0 or higher

Solo App: 1.2.0 or higher

GoPro: 3.00.00 or higher

  • In the first step, we must remove the frame which is at the bottom of UAV.
  • We have to can connect gimbal by the two ways for HDMI cable and the Gimbal Cable.
  • After connecting the gimbal with both wires, we have to position each cable to the internal components.
  • Sequentially after the above step we have to mount the gimbal.
  • Now we have to Install the 3-axis Solo Gimbal and also balance the weights.
  • In the last step, we have to go through the gimbal settings.
The detailed installation of Gimbal is given in User Manual provided by the company.

Amazon Customer Reviews

Love This

I SOOO wanted to love this drone. I have been a DJI Phantom Pilot for years and have owned every model of Phantom up to the Phantom 3 Pro. I was so frustrated with DJI’s customer service and lack of beta testing new software; I decided to sell my P3 Pro and go with 3DR Solo. I knew I was taking a few steps back in some areas but watched all of Colin’s videos and was convinced the Solo was for me. I also heard many great things about their product support and above all, wanted to support a US-based robotics company. Well, the drone arrived, and software upgrade was painless. Loved that the software can be updated right from the app without any wires.

So Far So Good

First off my brief interaction with 3DR tech support regarding a stick calibration that the controller required was pleasant and thorough (though I am perfectly ok with the electronic correspondence, I could see how it the topic was more serious that it would be far more comforting to speak with an actual human being) The drone is really fun to fly, it really makes you feel comfortable traveling, and because it’s flight characteristics are adjustable it can really be tailored to pilots of all levels.The live feed through the GoPro works very well with what feels like almost no lag. And the range of connectivity between the controller and the drone has been more than adequate for my uses. Only one time has it automatically tried to “return home” and that was when it ran into the custom geofence I had set up. Check out 3DR Solo Review before purchase a this Smart Drone on Amazon.

3D Robotics Rocks

I almost loved it. I wanted to love it. The 3DR Solo is feature rich, and when on sale is priced right…but two things keep me from giving it the five stars of a lover. One; out of the box, it needed an esoteric calibration. An error message indicating that the joysticks were out of range. Tech support was immediately helpful on Monday morning, but I lost a weekend of flying, shooting and playing.

The Verdict
Although the 3D Robotics Solo is expensive, we can afford it because it offers us a lot of features that pushes drone smarts to the limit. Solo is the right choice which is capable, durable, and future-proof drones in today’s market. 3DR Solo Quadcopter with 3-axis gimbals for GoPro is “Smart drone” designed to be “future-proof.” 3DR Solo is a right product with high quality. 3DR Solo is intended for a hobbyist, beginners or professionals. I think this 3DR Solo Review helped you to find the relevant information.
8.5 Total Score
Good

Performance
9
Design
9
Flight Time
8.5
PROS
  • Design
  • Easy to control
  • Fast
  • Durable
  • App controlled
CONS
  • Cost
  • No GoPro camera
  • Recharge Times
User Rating: 3.35 (1 votes)

Does it have the auto return or fly back to home if it goes out of signal range or level bat.?

If using GPS mode, the solo ‘il come back to its origin point when the field is lost. The RC system has been designed no to interfere with the surrounding 2.4hz signals. The return home altitude is changeable to avoid surrounding obstacles. Drone is the best (and easiest) quad I’ve flown and if you are looking at this guy as a first drone. Get it. It’s great. 

Will it work with a go pro session (the newest version)?

The gimbal will only fit the standard size GoPro that can be removed from their housing such as the hero4 black and silver and the hero3 and hero3+. Now, nobody will tell you (except people like me) that the standard Hero3 (as opposed to the Hero3+) works with it, but it does. The real truth is that you just can’t start and stop the filming from the controller. You have to turn the camera on and start rolling before you turn to solo on. Yes, this creates more fat to be cut from your video, but it also means you can save your pennies until you can afford a “more fully compatible” camera. While you get the best experience with the Hero3+, Hero4 Silver, and Hero4 Black, it is not necessary to purchase one of those three cameras because solo is compatible with all of them, the controller’s software just isn’t fully integrated with them all.

How good is the follow mode?

From the first generation to the present, this feature is ideal with no flaws as it has a minimum of 6 satellites tracking and redirecting it. The answer is high when it comes to the follow mode. 

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply